Monday, March 8, 2010

Laissez Les Bon Temps Roulez! (Let the good times roll!)

- Wow, what a Super Bowl huh? As with many of my predictions over the past year, I got this one wrong. BUT, for once I am actually glad I did. Why is that? Because, I have never seen a city or a region so desperate to win something, anything, in my entire life. That game, as cliche as it sounds, meant the WORLD to Who Dat Nation. For their Saints to go out and win that game by 2 touchdowns was simply amazing. Congratulations to the city, the team won that for you. Please take this momentum and rebuild levees, schools, and the entire 9th ward that hasnt been touched since 2005. My first Monday in college was the day Katrina hit, and nobody will ever forget those days after. Take the positive momentum and run with it.

- What more can you say about Drew Brees? If I had to sum up his style of play in 2 words, those words would be ACCURATE AGGRESSION. ACCURATE describes his Super Bowl performance (82% completion percentage), and really the way he has been forced to play since his almost career ending shoulder injury. AGGRESSION describes how much he wants to win, beat the odds, prove the doubters wrong, have his personal redemption from being an outcast in the NFL, and have his Saints help resurrect a broken city with many broken hearts. He wanted to go there, even in the midst of chaos. They needed him. Now, he is their adopted son. The picture with him and his son will go down as one of the most priceless moments in Super Bowl history.

- Have you ever noticed, that for whatever reason, the Super Bowl usually has that one crystal clear defining moment? I dont know if its just the media buildup for the game, or whether the level of play is really that high, but I looked back on all the Super Bowls I have been able to watch, and every single one has that defining moment. This years moment goes to New Orleans native Terry Porter, who's interception return for a touchdown against Peyton Manning sealed the deal for the Saints to bring the Lombardi Trophy to Nawlins' for the first time. What a moment it was.

- I said in last weeks blog that I couldnt see Peyton Manning losing a legacy game like this. Well, now what? First, I must say that he is as classy in defeat as any athlete I have ever seen. Can you imagine losing the biggest game of your life, showering for 15 mins, and then going into a 30 minute interview session describing how you lost the biggest game of your life? He was extremely gracious, showing that he is still the CLASS of The NFL, no doubt about that. He is also a New Orleans native which Im sure was tough for him and his family to lose and win at the same time. Peyton is still the very best QB in the NFL, and will have multiple rings before he hangs up his cleats. He will also hold all the records and accolades as well. This mastermind will come back in a big way next year, and the next, and the next.

- Dwight Freeney not being healthy was huge in the game wasnt it?

- Duke beat North Carolina last night in the Dean Dome. It was a sloppy game by both teams, but I was AMAZED that the UNC players could not CATCH A BASKETBALL. I cannot tell you how many times that good passes were fumbled away for turnovers, or rebounds fell to Duke players because the Tar Heels couldnt grasp the ball. I don't know if Roy can coach that. At some level that is what schools are paying you to do.

- Obviously this team wont be going to tournament (barring some miracle run in the ACC tourney), but like Dick Vitale said last night: "All of these teams should have fun while they can, because North Carolina will be back next year with a great recruiting class, and then its back to business for Roy Williams." I agree, its a rebuilding year for the young Heels.

- Here is my simile for the 2009 Heels: "Its like a fine wine taster was given a glass of Franzia. Its only one glass, but man its bad." Look for champagne to flow the next 4 years.

- Todd McShay of Scouts Inc. thinks that the Rams will take Gerald McCoy over Ndamukong Suh. The only way that this happens is due to contract disputes, not talent levels. Suh is the best of a generation. Hell, they went head to head in November, and Suh made McCoy look average. While I dont agree with him very often, Skip Bayless of ESPN says that right now he thinks that Suh is better than Reggie White was at this point in his career. High praise. I hope he goes somewhere he can win.

- The Nebraska mens basketball team continues to find new ways to lose. Look, it probably played the best it could've against Baylor Wednesday night, but then poor game management by Doc and poor play in the last 1:13 of the game cost them a chance to have a good win against a pretty good Baylor squad. Look, the team is not good. I think Doc has regressed a little this year, BUT he wont get let go for 2 years at least. I hate to say give him time, but its kind of being forced upon Nebrasketball fans due to budget constraints. One positive though: in a recent poll among Big 12 basketball players, Doc finished 2nd in the category "Other than your head coach, who would you want to play for." Kids want to play for him, so hopefully he can recruit and turn it around.

- Another big shout-out to the Husker Womens team! 21-0 is a huge accomplishment. Keep battling and get better so you all have a shot to beat UCONN in March!

- 119 days until the World Cup. Who's getting excited?! June 12th the US play England.

- Steven Colbert and John Stewart have been on fire lately. Stewarts satire on climate change have been outstanding, and Colbert calling Sarah Palin an "f'ing retard" was one of his best bits ever. Both are linked below and are worth the 10 mins to watch.
-Colbert: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/02/09/colbert-sarah-palin-is-a_n_454744.html

-Stewart: http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-february-10-2010/unusually-large-snowstorm

-Quote of the week: "Im certain that if the US government was put in charge of the Sahara Desert, that in 5 years there would be a shortage of sand." ....so true.

No comments:

Post a Comment