- Now, I want to start with one of my very favorite athlete/celebrity characters, Chad OchoCinco. I usually despise celebrities, but he is one that I enjoy following. Not only is he a great wide receiver on the field, he seems like a genuine person off of it. He has been quoted many times as saying that he plays for the love of the game, not for money. Thats why he doesnt care about all of the numerous fines he has gotten fined from the NFL over the years. He is out on the field to have fun, period. Some have argued over the years that he is a detriment in the locker room and he doesnt help his team win because he is so focused on himself or his next touchdown celebration. While at times it may seem like that, I would also argue that by being the extreme personality that he is, it may take some pressure off of the rest of the team and help them focus during those tough weeks. Who knows, Chad may be the smartest person in the locker room and nobody knows it yet.
- His touchdown celebrations are second to none. Nobody besides Chad has that much fun on a football field.
- OchoCinco was recently quoted as saying that if the NFL has a labor strike in 2011, that he would go play for Barcelona FC (spanish club soccer team) until the NFL came to their senses and started playing again. He said the true power of "Esteban OchoCinco" would be realized at Barca. The man is a heck of an athlete. Not only is he a great wide receiver, but he can also be an emergency kicker for the Bengals as well. In fact, in 2009, he made a field goal, extra point, and kicked off when the Bengals kicker got injured. Quite the site to see. I hope he does go play futbol in Spain, it would not only be hilarious, but who knows, he could be the next dual sport athlete like Bo Jackson.
- OchoCinco also said that about the NFL combine and scouting process: "All you have to do is run in a straight line really fast. You can worry about the football stuff later." I couldnt agree more. Scouts and GM's are so worried about 40 times that they dont see football players anymore. A guy like Matt O'Hanlon who is first and foremost a football player might not get a chance if he doesnt test well at the combine, and that is a shame. Jerry Rice would not have tested well at the combine either. Food for thought.
- Chad also wants Terrell Owens to join the Bengals this off season. He may want to rethink that after these "model" pictures came out: http://www.tmz.com/2010/02
- Random: Chad is giving away 10 seats to the Lakers-Celtics game to his fans. He does stuff like this all time. Again, it may be egotistical OR he could just be sharing the wealth to his fans. Either he is unprofessional, or he is Robin Hood. Im going with Robin Hood.
- How cool was the opening ceremony to the winter olympics? Props to the city of Vancouver. Not only is that awesome city doing a great job of hosting the games, but its doing it during near 60 degree weather.
- Props to Lindsey Vonn who won her first Gold Medal Wednesday, despite having a nasty shin injury that almost kept her out of the Olympics. Another shout out to the flying tomato, Shawn White. Dude, they are gonna start naming events after you if you keep killing everyone like you are now. Impressive.
- Tuesday marked the start of the best professional sports tournament in the world, the UEFA Champions League (European club soccer). So far, all games have been decided by one goal. Chelsea plays Inter Milan next Wednesday. Personally, nothing would give me greater pleasure than beating Inter and former coach Jose Mourinho, beating Man U in the Semi's and then crushing Barca in the Final to win the Title. Especially after being screwed out of the final last year by poor refereeing. GO BLUES!
- Big shout out to Sports Illustrated for their swimsuit issue. The soccer wags body painting section was money. Side note, Husker fan Andy Roddick is one lucky guy. His wife is the cover model.
- The Husker womens team is now 24-0. I went to the game against Iowa State on Wednesday, and I must say that even though they had an off night that they were still very impressive against the #13 team in the nation. Way to go Vonnie Turner! Keep winning ladies.
- My vote for douche of the month goes to John Mayer. Seriously dude, get your shit together. Nobody loves you as much as you do. If you dont believe me, read his article in playboy:http://www.mtv.com/news/ar
- The Tea Party movement is a good idea. Paying Sarah Palin to be the face of the campaign is not. Seriously, if she ever holds an office higher than governor of Alaska, then she will be the dumbest and most contradictory person to hold that office. The Tea Party has promise as a legitimate 3rd political party, just dont ruin it with a ridiculous leader. That would be like Tiger Woods being a marriage counselor. http://www.youtube.com/wat
- My thoughts and prayers go out to Phi Mu this week as they grieve the loss of one of their sisters after that horrific 40+ car pile up on I-80 on Sunday.
Last buy CERTAINLY not least: Lent has begun. I have decided to give up eating after drinking. I probably should give up drinking all together, but I may need to take baby steps to get there. God Bless everyone, especially during the next 40 days.
Quote of the week: "Now if you let me, you wont regret me, shit if you let me, you wont forget me." - Lil Wayne


No comments:
Post a Comment