skip to main |
skip to sidebar

- I hate to open another blog up like this, but please pray for the people of Indonesia as they suffered an earthquake this past weekend, a 6.4 on the Rictor scale. I hope all of these earthquakes are not connected.
-Tiger just announced today that he will be returning for the Masters in April. Dont look now, but it looks as if the road to recovery runs through Augusta, GA. Amen Corner will have an extra special meaning to Tiger this year.
- The top story of the week of course is the NCAA tournament. Selection Sunday was definitely intriguing to watch. I do have one major problem with the field of 64. How in the name of bracketology did Mississippi State not make the Dance? Anybody who watched the conference tournaments found out how good Miss St was, taking #2 Kentucky into overtime, only to lose on a freakish John Wall 3 pointer. I mean honestly, how do Florida or Minnesota get in ahead of Miss St? Florida got bounced out of the SEC tournament, and Minnesota, while they did make it to the Big 10 tourney championship game got rocked by almost 30 points by Ohio State. Anybody who watched Miss St- Kentucky knew the Bulldogs deserved to be in the tournament. Even Kentucky coach John Calipari said after the game "We shouldn't have won this game, we got lucky. If we are the #2 team in the country, then what are [Miss St]? They are really good." I know all the bracketologists out there are going to say that Miss St had to win to get in, and I get that at some level. BUT to play Kentucky that close, and not get in, while Florida and Minnesota both get in after lackluster performances in their last games, I think is a travesty. Miss St gave it all they had to win that game, and senior center Jarvis Varnado played like a man possessed. Varnardo will make it big in the NBA as a shot blocker- wait and thank me later for that knowledge.
- Looking at the actual bracket match-ups though, there are some very intriguing games.
- Tenn - San Diego St: which Tenn team will show up? The one that beat Kentucky or got blown out by Kentucky? SDSU isnt a slouch either, they can definitely play.
- OK State - GA tech: first team in foul trouble loses. James Anderson has to step up for Okie St.
- Butler - UTEP: UTEP is everyones cinderella, but Butler has won 20 straight games and has a ton of tournament tested players.
- Vandy - Murray St: Vandy is balanced, but has limped into the dance while 30 win Murray St comes in with confidence and some great wins.
- Texas - Wake: Texas has struggled with injuries all year, while Wake hasnt played a complete game since January.
- Temple - Cornell: Temple is good. Are they really worthy of a 5 seed? Cornell will test that. The Big Red are lights out shooters and scrappy defenders.
- Wisc - Wofford: Wisconsin's methodic pace has either been great or been their downfall in past tournaments. Wofford will get out and run and try to put the Badgers on their heels.
- Purdue - Siena: Purdue's Robbie Hummel is out for the year, and the Boilermakers looked pretty anemic in the Big 10 tournament, while Siena are known as fiesty underdogs looking for a slugfest.
- I see Syracuse winning it all, IF Arinze Onuaku is healthy by the Sweet 16. I think their zone defense will be too tough to beat, especially for teams who havent seen it before. Its like trying to prepare for Nebraska's old option offense, too tough to simulate. My final 4 will most likely be chalk. As of right now I have Kansas, Syracuse, Kentucky, and Duke. I am honestly trying to see a way that Duke doesnt get to the Final 4, but their bracket is so easy that a caveman could win it. Notre Dame would probably give Duke the best game out of anyone in the region.
- My sleeper teams are: Okie State, Xavier, San Diego St., Tennessee, UTEP, Texas, Cornell, Notre Dame, Siena, Louisville, and New Mexico. You may say: "But Nick, those all seem like really good teams, and some of them are higher seeds, how could they be sleepers?" Because they have either underachieved, not gotten due recognition, or are just now hitting their stride quietly. Look out for New Mexico, Steve Alford has that team playing well. They have size and athletic ability for days. West Virgina better be ready.
- Can someone tell me if Baylor is really good or if they are messing with me? I cant decide.
- In my last blog, I argued that conference tournaments were worthless for those #1 seed locks. Syracuse proved me wrong. If they would have won the Big East conference tournament they would have been the number 2 overall seed and been playing at home for the Sweet 16 and Elite 8 games. Eric Jones, you were right. On a different note, how much fun is the Big East tournament to watch. It seems like instant classics are born there every year. What a couple of games by Da'Sean Butler of West Virginia. My all-conference tournament team is: Evan Turner, Ohio St; Da'Sean Butler, WVU; Jarvis Varnardo, Miss St; Anthony Johnson, Montana; John Scheyer, Duke.
- The Nebraska women suffered their first loss of the season on Saturday to Texas A&M. While I wish they could have remained undefeated, there is a method to the madness here. Coni Yori said before the Big 12 conference tournament that it would be tough for her team to win 3 games in 3 days due to the physical style and fast pace that her team plays at. Without saying it, she wanted her team to rest up for the NCAA tournament. While I believe in carrying momentum in to the big dance, I think by resting her team and giving them a loss to think about for the first time all season, she may have given them the motivation to be able to challenge UCONN. They would not play the Huskies until the Championship game if they both make it. The Lady Huskers deserve the #3 overall seed they received today. They have a tough region, but every team will have to win some tough games to win it all. Go Big Red.
- Surprisingly the Nebraska men showed some heart in the Big 12 conference tournament, by beating Mizzou by 15 in the first round and then giving Texas A&M all they could handle in round 2. I liked seeing the zone defense the Huskers displayed against A&M. They forced the A&M shooters into a lot of bad shots and could have won that game. Lets hope next season they show the fire they did in KC last week.
- Quarterback Brady Quinn was traded to my Denver Broncos on Sunday. Let the Broncos questionable off-season moves begin. Next up, Brandon Marshall.
- A UEFA Champions League update. How impressive were Manchester United and Arsenal last week. Wow. Wayne Rooney is on fire too, as much as it pains me to say. I have to laugh at Real Madrid being bounced out by Olympic Lyon last week as well. The Yankees of club soccer spent 300 million euros to improve the squad last year and got bounced at the same stage of the Champions League as last year. This just proves that putting together a bunch of talented players does not make a team. My beloved Chelsea got bounced out of the round of 16 by Inter Milan today. 3 problems with this: Chelsea should have had at least 2 penalty shots in the first half, only to have the referee look the other way. The overall refereeing in the 2 games against Inter was horrendous. This game should not have happened in the round of 16 in the first place. Going into the Champions League, both of these squads were number 1 type seeds. For them to meet in the round of 16 is a joke, and proves once again that UEFA doesnt like Chelsea. There is no way that their random selection of teams landed Chelsea and Inter together. UEFA wanted to give Chelsea the toughest road to Madrid as possible and succeeded. Call me a Chelsea homer all you want, but looking back at Chelsea's match ups the past 5 years that, you cant tell me that the match ups are random. UEFA is a joke. And yes, Im a very pissed off Chelsea fan at the moment, but I thought this before this season's champions league began. Im glad Mourinho showed class during this series, Im sure it was nice for him to beat Chelsea. He should still be the manager. Go Blues.
- If you have not been watching ESPN's 30 for 30 movie series, you are missing out. This weekend's movie was about Reggie Miller and the nasty Knicks-Pacers rivalry of the mid-1990's. There was so much fighting back then, it made basketball look like a hockey game. All of the movies have been a great watch, but this one was ultimately entertaining. The NBA needs more blood feuds like the Pacers and Knicks had, it would make the regular season worth watching.
- Oregon QB Jeremiah Masoli was suspended the entire 2010 season for stealing a laptop from a fraternity house on campus. In total, that makes 8 off-season arrests for the Oregon football team. What a bonehead move. Masoli was a pre-season Heisman candidate, and 2010 was supposed to be the year of the Duck in college football. Ill settle for it being the Year of the Husker.
-Part 2 of Ndamukong Rising: http://inside.nike.com/blogs/usnikefootball/2010/03/10/ndamukong-rising-episode-two
- Former Husker I-back Quentin Castille is entering the NFL supplemental draft after a less than stellar 2009 season with Northwestern Louisiana University. Good luck Q, you are going to need it.
- The guy who video-taped Erin Andrews nude through a hotel peep-hole got 30 months in prison. Im sure he wont have to gather so much technology to do that in prison as the bars are wide enough to see through.
- Daily Show Clip of the Week: John Stewart makes fun of Glenn Beck after the Eric Massa interview went nowhere: http://www.thedailyshow.com/full-episodes/wed-march-10-2010-jerry-seinfeld
- Quote of the week: "It appears as if Glenn Beck has come up with his new sign off phrase, every show he can now say 'I have wasted an hour of your time and I apologize for that, see you tomorrow." - John Stewart
- Song of week: Shoot Down the Stars, Gym Class Heroes

- First, my thoughts and prayers go out to the people of Chile after one of the biggest Earthquakes in recent memory, an 8.8 on the Rictor Scale. By comparison, Haiti was an 8.0. The only good news out of this incident is that the Chilean people are much better prepared for these types of quakes than Haiti was. Did you know: the Chile quake moved the Earth's axis by 3 inches. Thats powerful.
- What a Gold Medal Olympic hockey game! After Canada dominated most of the first and second periods the US cam storming back in at the end of the 3rd period to make the score 2-1 Canada. The third period was one for the ages. There were the hard hits, the puck possession by the US, and then the game tying goal with 24.4 second left. It was an amazing site to see, not only as a sports fan, but as an American. Like I said last week, on paper these 2 teams were not close. The US played with mostly second tier NHL players, and Canada was an NHL All-Star team. On paper, Canada should have won every game by a few goals and coasted to the Gold Medal in the sport that they claim as their nations identity. Going into the tournament the US were the 5th best team, on paper. BUT- that's why they play the games! Not only did the US gel as a team, but they also had a Canada sized chip on their shoulder to prove to the Canadians that they could beat them in their own sport, in their own country, and they could do it not once, but twice. It almost happened. With 12 minutes left in overtime, Sidney Crosby added to his already ridiculous resume by putting a shot past tournament MVP, Ryan Miller. For a few minutes, the US had a chance to make some history. The US team gave everything they had in that game, and it showed as most of the team collapsed on the ice in disbelief. I must say, even though I am not a hockey fan, that game put just as many chills down my spine as a Nebraska football game. What more can you say about US goalie, Ryan Miller? He was an after-thought going into the Olympics only to be the tournament MVP. He will be one to watch for a long time.
- Side note on Sidney Crosby: has any athlete ever lived up to expectations as much as he has? Not only has he been the savior of the NHL, but he has also won an MVP, a Stanley Cup, and a Gold medal. He is 22 by the way. Ill say this, Sid the Kid has now turned into Sid the grown-ass man, and will someday be Sid the Legend. If youre a Lebron James fan, you may want to WITNESS Sid's greatness.
- Olympic wrap-up: The US won the medal count again by taking home 37 medals. Looks like Canada's Own the Podium slogan backfired. Back to being America's hat, Canucks.
- The shout outs keep coming for the Nebraska womens basketball team. 28-0, a perfect regular season. That is beyond impressive. The Big XII has, if not the best, then the second best conference in the nation, and to run through that gauntlet undefeated is incredible. While UCONN may get the headlines and deservedly so for running off 70 straight wins, Nebraska is content with taking care of business and hopefully challenging UCONN in the final. Beating UCONN is going to be extremely tough, but if Vonnie Turner can lock down Mya Moore, and Kelsey Griffin and Cory Montgomery can lock down the UCONN post players, it could be a fun one to watch. Im calling it now, Montgomery is the key to the tournament. If she can hit the mid range jumpers like she has all season, she will open the lane up for Griffen and open up the 3 for Vonnie. Go Big Red.
- No surprise here: Ndamukong Suh is a freak athlete. He proved it once more for NFL scouts at the most over-blown event in US History, the NFL combine. Suh did 34 reps on the bench press, ran the 40 yd dash in 4.98 seconds, and had a ridiculous 35.5 inch vertical leap. Once again he proved he deserves to be taken #1 overall. Even Gerald McCoy said he and the '09 Nebraska Defense was the best he ever played against. If that doesnt convince you, maybe this blog will: http://www.cbssports.com/columns/story/12998785/dumb-it-down-suh-still-the-best-tackle-stupid
-Also check out this video of Suh's training: http://inside.nike.com/blogs/usnikefootball/2010/03/02/ndamukong-rising-episode-one
- NFL Free Agency period started last night at midnight. No big surprises here: Julius Peppers to Chicago. Anquan Boldin to Baltimore. Carlos Dansby to Miami. Jake Delhomme released from Carolina. Kyle Vanden Bosch to Detroit. Good for Kyle to get his payday.
- Spring Training is officially underway. A big shout out to my cousin Mike who is managing the Marlins facility now. I hope Jason Heyward is as good as advertised for the Braves. He's truly in beast mode so far.
- The US lost to Netherlands in a friendly on Wednesday. They played some of their best players against the #3 ranked side in the world and could have come away with a draw. Provides a little hope for the World Cup. The biggest thing is getting everyone healthy before June. If so, the US can make some noise.
- This weeks Daily Show and Colbert Report clips are of Jon Stewart tearing apart Fox "News", and Colbert pimping out Shawn Hannity. Worth your time to watch.
- http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/03/04/jon-stewart-fox-news-sarah-palin-megyn-kelly_n_485235.html
- http://www.colbertnation.com/the-colbert-report-videos/265498/march-04-2010/tip-wag---james-o-keefe---sean-hannity
- Anyone else find it hilarious that Duke still cant win the ACC, even with UNC having a down year? Duke, for all the glory they are given, has not produced anything in about 8 years worth talking about. Time for Coach K to adjust a little bit.
-The Dancing with the Stars lineup was announced this week. Participating will be: Shannen Doherty, Pamela Anderson, Niecy Nash, Nicole Scherzinger, Kate Gosselin, Jake Pavelka, Evan Lysacek, Erin Andrews, Chad Ochocinco, Buzz Aldrin, and Aidan Turner. Im hoping Chad does well, hes easily the most compelling out of everyone, minus Erin Andrews.
- The Oscars are this weekend, and while Im not going to dedicate an entire blog to them, if Sandra Bullock doesnt win Best Actress for her role in The Blindside, then scrap the awards.
-Most know this, but I have never been nor will ever be a country music fan (unless I marry Carrie Underwood), but Chicken Fried by Zac Brown Band is good and makes me want to line dance. I feel dirty.
- Quote of the week: "Did you know: marriage is the last legal form of slavery." -Andrew Senske
- Song of the week: Ordinary People, John Legend

- Following up on the hot topic of the past week, Tiger Woods press conference. It was exactly what every publicist would have their client read. It came off to me as remorseful and contrite. He said exactly what I thought he would: {Im sorry. I screwed up. I apologize to my family. Im getting help. Im going to make this as right as I can. Im not above the rules.} This was all that was needed. He obviously has made a mistake, and seeing his mom there glaring at him could not have been easy to deal with, but when it comes down it, he is a human. The best part of the whole press conference was him telling the press to leave Elin the hell alone, and that she has done nothing wrong (like domestic abuse was a realistic option) to deserve this paparazzi abuse. You have to know that when Tiger comes back that he will go on a winning rampage that golf will have never seen before and may never see again. This self inflicted torture will focus him. A couple of guarantees: 1) He will win the first Major tournament he plays in once he is back. 2) he will be the money winner on tour again. 3) He will be healthy again for the first time in 3 years. Deadly combo for the rest of the PGA if you ask me. But who are we kidding, Joe Schmo golfer will be more than willing to sit back and ride Tiger's coattails into the big bag of money.
- Do you believe in miracles? The US Hockey team apparently does. An over-achieving, under-talented, out-played US team beat Canada 5-3 on Sunday before a tape delay crowd (NBC you are the most worthless TV network ever). Easily considered the biggest upset at the Winter Games so far, this gritty US team is eerily reminiscent of that 1980 squad that won the Gold. Another big feather in the US cap is that they beat Canada at the Winter Games for the first time since 1960. Both the US and Canada are on to the semi-finals where they could meet in the Gold medal game. If they do, NBC better have Al Michaels calling the game, because Canada is an NHL all-star team and the US is just OK. It would be a miracle, but luckily, this gritty team believes in them.
- The shoutouts keep coming for the 26-0 and BIG XII Champion Nebraska Lady Huskers. A 80-64 hard fought victory at OU on Wednesday means that the ladies won the Big XII regular season title. Coincidentally the 16 points NU won by Wednesday night over OU was the same margin that UCONN beat OU by a week ago. Destiny? Lets hope so. I challenge all NU fans to go see these girls play, they are really really good.
- The Champions League knockout stage has been a good one to watch so far. My Chelsea team did lose 2-1 to Inter on Wednesday though, which is really disappointing. They had possession for 60% of the game and double the amount of shots on goal, but Inter played great defense and had 2 nice goals. Hopefully the luck will be in Chelsea's favor when the return to Stamford Bridge in a few weeks.
- Both Ladanian Tomlinson and Michael Westbrook were released this week from there long time teams, the Chargers and Eagles respectively. Its going to be strange to see them in different uniforms, but it looks like the best days are behind the 2 guys who helped me win my fantasy league 2 years ago. Hope Westbrook goes to Denver.
- The MLS avoided a strike today. Barely news for most people, but if this league can get its act together it will be a legitimate sports entity in the US in 10 years. I hope it does.
- The rumors of the Big 12 splitting up are starting to gain momentum. Ive heard Nebraska linked to the Big 10 and Pac 10. Big 12 Commish Dan Beebe needs to stop being a pushover and get the Big 12 the money it deserves or people will leave for greener ($) pastures. You know what they say, where there is smoke, there is fire (or a pushover commish who gives UT everything they want).
- Lindsey Vonn broke her pinky in a crash Tuesday in the Giant Slalom. She is still going to race on Friday in the Slalom. 2 words: FREAKING WARRIOR.
- Both John Stewart and Stephen Colbert had great skits this week: Stewarts on the Heathcare Summit, and Colbert playing Fondue pong with the Swiss. Worth watching.
Stewart: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/02/25/stewart-skewers-gop-for-d_n_476253.html
Colbert: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/02/24/colbert-plays-fondue-pong_n_474525.html
- Mark Hoppus of Blink-182 tweeted that he thinks the mystery mastermind on Lost is the banker from Deal or No Deal. As a person who doesnt watch the show: he's absolutely right.
- Lindsay Lohan said the cocaine and pills she took over a 3 year span almost killed her. A big sarcastic WOW for Lindsay. Who knew Blow and pills could kill.
- A killer whale at Sea World in FL killed a trainer on Wednesday. Its the 3rd time this whale has killed. I feel bad for the girl, but these creatures shouldnt be in captivity, hence Killer Whale. Free Willy.
Quote of the week: "Im on the pursuit of happiness, and I know, everything that shines aint always gonna be gold, Ill be fine once I get it, Ill be good." -Kid Cudi
Song of the week: Heart of a Lion, Kid Cudi.

- First things first: Tiger Woods only owes an apology to the people he hurt, his family. No fan, columnist, talk show host, sponsor ect deserves an apology. Get over it. People mess up, sometimes they mess up BIG. The only person he has to answer to is himself at the end of the day. So what if sponsors drop him? He's not begging them to give him millions of dollars. They sponsor him because he is the best to ever play the game of golf. Thats what he is paid to do, not to be a saint. Of course, all of this would have been easier if he was the model citizen we all thought he was, but thats not the case. This too shall pass. Americans have the most forgiving society in the world. If he gets up on the podium tomorrow, admits he was wrong, that he is receiving treatment, and he has learned from this- I guarantee people will forgive him by the end of this PGA season. I dont condone his actions, but every fan that thinks they are entitled to some apology is a fool. Its going to be tough enough for him to have a legitimate relationship with his kids now, get off his back. Cheetah Woods is still the man.
- Now, I want to start with one of my very favorite athlete/celebrity characters, Chad OchoCinco. I usually despise celebrities, but he is one that I enjoy following. Not only is he a great wide receiver on the field, he seems like a genuine person off of it. He has been quoted many times as saying that he plays for the love of the game, not for money. Thats why he doesnt care about all of the numerous fines he has gotten fined from the NFL over the years. He is out on the field to have fun, period. Some have argued over the years that he is a detriment in the locker room and he doesnt help his team win because he is so focused on himself or his next touchdown celebration. While at times it may seem like that, I would also argue that by being the extreme personality that he is, it may take some pressure off of the rest of the team and help them focus during those tough weeks. Who knows, Chad may be the smartest person in the locker room and nobody knows it yet.
- His touchdown celebrations are second to none. Nobody besides Chad has that much fun on a football field.
- OchoCinco was recently quoted as saying that if the NFL has a labor strike in 2011, that he would go play for Barcelona FC (spanish club soccer team) until the NFL came to their senses and started playing again. He said the true power of "Esteban OchoCinco" would be realized at Barca. The man is a heck of an athlete. Not only is he a great wide receiver, but he can also be an emergency kicker for the Bengals as well. In fact, in 2009, he made a field goal, extra point, and kicked off when the Bengals kicker got injured. Quite the site to see. I hope he does go play futbol in Spain, it would not only be hilarious, but who knows, he could be the next dual sport athlete like Bo Jackson.
- OchoCinco also said that about the NFL combine and scouting process: "All you have to do is run in a straight line really fast. You can worry about the football stuff later." I couldnt agree more. Scouts and GM's are so worried about 40 times that they dont see football players anymore. A guy like Matt O'Hanlon who is first and foremost a football player might not get a chance if he doesnt test well at the combine, and that is a shame. Jerry Rice would not have tested well at the combine either. Food for thought.
- Chad also wants Terrell Owens to join the Bengals this off season. He may want to rethink that after these "model" pictures came out: http://www.tmz.com/2010/02/18/terrell-owens-stomach-photo-fashion-show/ Seriously, T.O.?
- Random: Chad is giving away 10 seats to the Lakers-Celtics game to his fans. He does stuff like this all time. Again, it may be egotistical OR he could just be sharing the wealth to his fans. Either he is unprofessional, or he is Robin Hood. Im going with Robin Hood.
- How cool was the opening ceremony to the winter olympics? Props to the city of Vancouver. Not only is that awesome city doing a great job of hosting the games, but its doing it during near 60 degree weather.
- Props to Lindsey Vonn who won her first Gold Medal Wednesday, despite having a nasty shin injury that almost kept her out of the Olympics. Another shout out to the flying tomato, Shawn White. Dude, they are gonna start naming events after you if you keep killing everyone like you are now. Impressive.
- Tuesday marked the start of the best professional sports tournament in the world, the UEFA Champions League (European club soccer). So far, all games have been decided by one goal. Chelsea plays Inter Milan next Wednesday. Personally, nothing would give me greater pleasure than beating Inter and former coach Jose Mourinho, beating Man U in the Semi's and then crushing Barca in the Final to win the Title. Especially after being screwed out of the final last year by poor refereeing. GO BLUES!
- Big shout out to Sports Illustrated for their swimsuit issue. The soccer wags body painting section was money. Side note, Husker fan Andy Roddick is one lucky guy. His wife is the cover model.
- The Husker womens team is now 24-0. I went to the game against Iowa State on Wednesday, and I must say that even though they had an off night that they were still very impressive against the #13 team in the nation. Way to go Vonnie Turner! Keep winning ladies.
- My vote for douche of the month goes to John Mayer. Seriously dude, get your shit together. Nobody loves you as much as you do. If you dont believe me, read his article in playboy:http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1631667/20100210/mayer_john.jhtml
- The Tea Party movement is a good idea. Paying Sarah Palin to be the face of the campaign is not. Seriously, if she ever holds an office higher than governor of Alaska, then she will be the dumbest and most contradictory person to hold that office. The Tea Party has promise as a legitimate 3rd political party, just dont ruin it with a ridiculous leader. That would be like Tiger Woods being a marriage counselor. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tarcoBFVAOA&feature=player_embedded#
- My thoughts and prayers go out to Phi Mu this week as they grieve the loss of one of their sisters after that horrific 40+ car pile up on I-80 on Sunday.
Last buy CERTAINLY not least: Lent has begun. I have decided to give up eating after drinking. I probably should give up drinking all together, but I may need to take baby steps to get there. God Bless everyone, especially during the next 40 days.
Quote of the week: "Now if you let me, you wont regret me, shit if you let me, you wont forget me." - Lil Wayne

- Wow, what a Super Bowl huh? As with many of my predictions over the past year, I got this one wrong. BUT, for once I am actually glad I did. Why is that? Because, I have never seen a city or a region so desperate to win something, anything, in my entire life. That game, as cliche as it sounds, meant the WORLD to Who Dat Nation. For their Saints to go out and win that game by 2 touchdowns was simply amazing. Congratulations to the city, the team won that for you. Please take this momentum and rebuild levees, schools, and the entire 9th ward that hasnt been touched since 2005. My first Monday in college was the day Katrina hit, and nobody will ever forget those days after. Take the positive momentum and run with it.
- What more can you say about Drew Brees? If I had to sum up his style of play in 2 words, those words would be ACCURATE AGGRESSION. ACCURATE describes his Super Bowl performance (82% completion percentage), and really the way he has been forced to play since his almost career ending shoulder injury. AGGRESSION describes how much he wants to win, beat the odds, prove the doubters wrong, have his personal redemption from being an outcast in the NFL, and have his Saints help resurrect a broken city with many broken hearts. He wanted to go there, even in the midst of chaos. They needed him. Now, he is their adopted son. The picture with him and his son will go down as one of the most priceless moments in Super Bowl history.
- Have you ever noticed, that for whatever reason, the Super Bowl usually has that one crystal clear defining moment? I dont know if its just the media buildup for the game, or whether the level of play is really that high, but I looked back on all the Super Bowls I have been able to watch, and every single one has that defining moment. This years moment goes to New Orleans native Terry Porter, who's interception return for a touchdown against Peyton Manning sealed the deal for the Saints to bring the Lombardi Trophy to Nawlins' for the first time. What a moment it was.
- I said in last weeks blog that I couldnt see Peyton Manning losing a legacy game like this. Well, now what? First, I must say that he is as classy in defeat as any athlete I have ever seen. Can you imagine losing the biggest game of your life, showering for 15 mins, and then going into a 30 minute interview session describing how you lost the biggest game of your life? He was extremely gracious, showing that he is still the CLASS of The NFL, no doubt about that. He is also a New Orleans native which Im sure was tough for him and his family to lose and win at the same time. Peyton is still the very best QB in the NFL, and will have multiple rings before he hangs up his cleats. He will also hold all the records and accolades as well. This mastermind will come back in a big way next year, and the next, and the next.
- Dwight Freeney not being healthy was huge in the game wasnt it?
- Duke beat North Carolina last night in the Dean Dome. It was a sloppy game by both teams, but I was AMAZED that the UNC players could not CATCH A BASKETBALL. I cannot tell you how many times that good passes were fumbled away for turnovers, or rebounds fell to Duke players because the Tar Heels couldnt grasp the ball. I don't know if Roy can coach that. At some level that is what schools are paying you to do.
- Obviously this team wont be going to tournament (barring some miracle run in the ACC tourney), but like Dick Vitale said last night: "All of these teams should have fun while they can, because North Carolina will be back next year with a great recruiting class, and then its back to business for Roy Williams." I agree, its a rebuilding year for the young Heels.
- Here is my simile for the 2009 Heels: "Its like a fine wine taster was given a glass of Franzia. Its only one glass, but man its bad." Look for champagne to flow the next 4 years.
- Todd McShay of Scouts Inc. thinks that the Rams will take Gerald McCoy over Ndamukong Suh. The only way that this happens is due to contract disputes, not talent levels. Suh is the best of a generation. Hell, they went head to head in November, and Suh made McCoy look average. While I dont agree with him very often, Skip Bayless of ESPN says that right now he thinks that Suh is better than Reggie White was at this point in his career. High praise. I hope he goes somewhere he can win.
- The Nebraska mens basketball team continues to find new ways to lose. Look, it probably played the best it could've against Baylor Wednesday night, but then poor game management by Doc and poor play in the last 1:13 of the game cost them a chance to have a good win against a pretty good Baylor squad. Look, the team is not good. I think Doc has regressed a little this year, BUT he wont get let go for 2 years at least. I hate to say give him time, but its kind of being forced upon Nebrasketball fans due to budget constraints. One positive though: in a recent poll among Big 12 basketball players, Doc finished 2nd in the category "Other than your head coach, who would you want to play for." Kids want to play for him, so hopefully he can recruit and turn it around.
- Another big shout-out to the Husker Womens team! 21-0 is a huge accomplishment. Keep battling and get better so you all have a shot to beat UCONN in March!
- 119 days until the World Cup. Who's getting excited?! June 12th the US play England.
- Steven Colbert and John Stewart have been on fire lately. Stewarts satire on climate change have been outstanding, and Colbert calling Sarah Palin an "f'ing retard" was one of his best bits ever. Both are linked below and are worth the 10 mins to watch.
-Colbert: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/02/09/colbert-sarah-palin-is-a_n_454744.html
-Stewart: http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-february-10-2010/unusually-large-snowstorm
-Quote of the week: "Im certain that if the US government was put in charge of the Sahara Desert, that in 5 years there would be a shortage of sand." ....so true.

What a crazy week this is! Days leading up to, and of course, the Super Bowl. National Signing Day. Grammy's last Sunday. And much, much more! This blog will be one of many shout-outs, so it should be fun.
-First shout-out goes to the Omaha Royals who I will be interning with for the season!
- Obviously, the Super Bowl is on Sunday. Big story of the week has been and will be the availability of Dwight Freeney. Obviously, if he cannot contribute, the Colts Defense will have trouble pressuring Drew Brees and that dynamic Saints offense. This could cause Colts linebackers Clint Sessions and Gary Brackett to have to blitz to get pressure on Brees, which would then open up the short passing game for Reggie Bush to go wild. Obviously Peyton Manning and Drew Brees are the 2 best players in this game, but its hard to argue that any player is more important than Freeney. Not only does he get after the QB (better than anyone since '02), but he provides leadership and experience in the playoffs and Super Bowl. Tough task for the Colts to play most, if not all of the Super Bowl without him, but I think they get it done on Sunday 28-24 in a barn-burner.
-As much as I want the city of New Orleans to have a big victory after all they have been through since 2005, I dont see Peyton Manning losing this legacy game. A guarantee I am willing to make is that "Who Dat Nation" (Saints fans) who attend the Super Bowl will be the rowdiest group of Super Bowl fans ever. They want this more than anything, and if they pull off the upset, you have to think Mardi Gras in 2 weeks will be the craziest it has EVER been. They are America's Team right now. A BIG SHOUTOUT to the 3 former Huskers in the Super Bowl, Carl Nicks & Scott Shanle (Saints), and Cody Glenn (Colts). Make Husker Nation proud fellas.
- Today was Christmas in February, or what is more commonly known as College Football National Signing Day! I have to get this off my chest, I hate the spectacle that has become NSD. Making 18 yr. old kids think they are Kanye West is wrong, and doesn't set them up to succeed. Warren Sapp said today on PTI that we should all find out about it on Monday and leave the kids to celebrate this moment with their coaches and parents. I couldnt agree with this more, and I am a self admitted Rivals.com junkie who likes his up-to-date information.
-I give the 2010 Nebraska recruiting class a B+. Signing Day usually brings bad memories up for Husker fans due to the de-committments of past classes, but today was a great signing day, nobody defected and we picked up 4* safety Corey Cooper and 4* QB Brion Carnes (cousin of Tommie Frazer). Cooper will be a sure-fire All-American, and hopefully the same winning pedigree that runs through Tommie Frazer runs through Carnes. If so, Nebraska will be winning National Titles again soon enough.
"We have a nice group of kids committed for next year already. People are starting to take notice of what were doing. I always say: The best recruiting tool is to win. Were starting to do that. Were right on that verge of doing some things with the program that will help get peoples attention, and I believe weve gotten some peoples attention. Now weve got to take it to the next level." -Bo Pelini
The 5 recruits I look most forward to seeing are:
-Chase Rome (Defensive Tackle, who at this point has better measurables than Suh did, i.e BEAST),
-Jay Guy (Defensive Tackle, partnered with Rome will reak havoc in backfields for a long time.),
-Braylon Heard (Running Back, finally have a running back with serious speed to burn),
- JaMarcus "Yoshi" Hardrick (Left Tackle, finally the Huskers found a big man to block Cody Green's Blindside),
-Tyler Evans (Wide reciever, local kid that has serious speed and hands....the next Nate Swift?)
- GRAMMY FOLLOW-UP: The Grammy's, for the most part, are sell-outs. I mean honesty, ALBUM OF THE YEAR GOES TO TAYLOR SWIFT???? You have to be kidding me. Look, Im not looking to diss Taylor Swift, Im sure she is a good artist, but honestly, shes not deserving of the most prestigious award in music. Im glad Kayne wasnt at the Grammy's because I would have agreed with him had he interrupted that acceptance speech. How anyone but Dave Mathews won ALBUM of the Year is beyond me. Big Whiskey and the Groogrux King was not only outstanding musically, but it was for their fallen comrade Leroi Moore, and showed real HEART. Apparently the Grammy's have stopped listening to music and started looking into where Lady Gaga gets her outfits from. Good Lord. Congrats to Stephen Colbert, Kings of Leon, and Jay-Z.
- HUGE shoutout to the Nebraska Womens Basketball team. They are on fire and should be #2 in the country, especially after beating #10 Oklahoma State Wednesday, 88-67. They rested all of their starters a few minutes into the second half. This team is for real and I hope they get to play UCONN for the national title. Personal shoutout to Vonnie Turner, former Bellevue East Lady Chieftain: keep shooting lights out!
-The Mens team on the other hand.....1 word: sloppy. After missing what seemed like 20 layups tuesday vs. #10 K-state, I was ready to leave the stands and suit up. 1 thing is for sure, the women would give them a run.
- Another big shoutout to Lupe Fiasco, Justin Timberlake, Jessica Biel, and Kenna. They climbed Mount Kilamajaro on Jan 12th to help raise awareness for clean water in Africa. They climbed all the way to the top of the 17,194 foot mountain. 1) All of them are badasses. 2) They have accomplished their goal, clean water projects have sprung up all over Africa.
- An ENORMOUS Thank You to Pastor Terry Nielsen of Immanuel Lutheran Church in Bellevue. He is retiring after almost 20 years of service to our church and community. He was my pastor all of my life and I am indebted to him for the lessons he taught me and memories he gave to all of us. One of the very best people I will ever meet. God Bless you and your family Pastor Terry.
- Lil Wayne came out with his album Rebirth this week. Its his interpretation of Rock-Rap-Autotune. One thing is for sure, its bad. 3 songs are semi-tolerable. Go back to rapping, Wayne.
-Plaxico Burress wants to come back to football after his prison sentence is over in 2011. Good Luck, Plax. I hope the job market is better than it is now.
- One of the best rivalries in the English Premier League is on Super Sunday: London rivals Chelsea and Arsenal square off from Stamford Bridge. I hope Chelsea rocks the Gunners and firms its hold over Manchester United! Go Blues!!!
-Went to my first Lincoln Stars hockey game last weekend. A big shout out to the 8 player fight in the second period! That was awesome.
-Possibly my new favorite bar in Lincoln: The Piano Bar. Whoever the pianists were saturday night, you guys rocked the roof off of that place.
- Best wings in Lincoln? N-Zone grilled wings, hands down.
Quote of the Week:
"Well, you should protest, yeah, you should picket me
I’m on a losing strike, I’m on a winning streak
I’m out in left field, I’m speaking mentally
But that’s a better places than where the benches be
I’m feelin’ really good, me and different beat
Me and my different drummer, he play the timpanis
See, that’s what got me here, you hearin’ me" - I'm Beamin', Lupe Fiasco